Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Hats, Sweatbands and Hair products

6StringShooter

One of the Regulars
I was wondering if any men's hair products (specifically Murray's Superior Hair Pomade) damage the sweatband (or really any part) of a mens hat...I have no experience here, but I will be purchasing my first hat in a few weeks, so I don't want to start messing it up right out of the box (so to speak)!

Last edited by a moderator:

scotrace

Head Bartender
Staff member
Well...

As long as it's your goo, what's the diff? Might discourage people who want to try it on...

Seriously, one sees a lot of vintage hats with stained up liners. Pomade may not be the culprit.

6StringShooter

One of the Regulars
Orgetorix said:
My guess is no, at least not seriously. Golden Era men wore a lot more junk in their hair than most do today.

hahahaha I wouldn't be surprised if the amount of junk in my hair is rapidly approaching what those guys had in there! lol If I don't it just flares up like this
Chaplin380.jpg

Roaring Days

Familiar Face
Really Orgetorix,
How much Goo. I always thought that today with the avalibility of hair product (gel, mousse, paste etc) that we would much more goop in our hair. I know BrylCream was big here in Aust during that time, but I dont know of much more...

Harry Pierpont

One of the Regulars
Shouldn't damage the sweat band but,... I have a vintage skimmer/ boater that I wore, (the one in my avatar), when I had some pomade in my hair once and it left a green stain on my forehead and hair. Now I use Wildroot!

Harry Pierpont

One of the Regulars
6StringShooter said:
Whoa! What brand of pomade was that?