Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

If the cap fits .............

silhouette53

One of the Regulars
Does anyone here ever wear one of these caps ? I see them called different names - Gatsby, Newsboy, Eight Quarter etc. In period films, it looks like they were primarily the headwear of 'working class' people ( which is what I regard myself as since I work for a living !!! )
I think maybe I could wear one of these and not look too 'stand out'

Anyone have any views ? Good or bad !

gatsby.jpg

johnnycanuck

My Mail is Forwarded Here
London in the sixties when you were working for a company your hat identified you as to what level you were at in the company. A dress code of sorts. Juniors and labourers wore caps (what you have a picture of there) middle management, bowlers and upper management, homburgs. I recall a episode of "are you being served" dealing with this issue. I recall fedoras falling in between Junior and middle management. as for standing out. With anything else it depends on how you carry yourself.
Johnny

Salv

One Too Many
I've got a few and really like them: a plain black that I've had for years, a plain brown that I got off eBay a few months ago, a grey flecked that I bought in a vintage shop in London, and a dark blue tweed that I bought in a branch of Edinburgh Woolen Mills in Windsor. The brown one came from an eBay store called Great Gatsbys and they have a few different styles on Buy-It-now for £18.50 - £20.00.