Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

My first hat - Akubra Snowy River

ChicagoWayVito

Practically Family
After several months of being on this forum I have finally purchased my first felt hat, an Akubra Snowy River. While visiting the David Morgan retail location found the Snowy River in 7 1/8 size in their reject section for $60. Apparently is was returned by the previous owner who had done a number on the brim. I figured that this was a good opportunity to try out some of the hat tools I had been purchasing over the past few months. While I am still a noob and the hat isn't perfect it does look a lot better than when I first picked it up.

Just after purchase:
JustAfterPurchase.jpg

Flattened Brim:
FlattenedBrim.jpg

Hand Shaped Brim:
HandShapedBrim.jpg

My next project is a bowler that I am shaping from a Fepsa hat body that I purchased.

javadave61

Practically Family
Congratulations, and welcome! My first "real" hat was an Akubra Stockman (the smaller brimmed brother of the Snowy River). I love the hat. Just be warned. That was only a few months ago. I'm now on my third Akubra. They can be addicting. And good job working the brim. Steam will get that in whatever shape you want it.

I have 3 , the best way I would suggest to get this to fit perfect is to get the outside completely wet put it on your head and form shape with your hands

ScaryWoody

New in Town
My first was an Akubra Cattleman, which led to an Akubra Down Under, which led to a Stetson fedora, which led to an Australian Outback Collection Jackeroo, which has me looking for....... Oh yeah, you're hooked.

skydog757

A-List Customer
Nice work on the brim. You've really got the bug if you can look at a beater and envision the various shapes that you can create. With patience and skill, of course.

H Weinstein

One of the Regulars