Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Rare and hard to find

fedoralover

Call Me a Cab
I've been collecting hats for over 5 years now. I've bought some new ones from Optimo and some Akubra's from Hatsdirect. But most of them I have bought off ebay, around 60 or so at last count.

I have looked at literally 1000's of hats on ebay and have noticed that some are just really really rare and hard to find.

First of all I've noticed that seeing a quality vintage fedora that is BLACK with a brim of at least 2 1/2 inches and a crown of at least 5 inches in a 7 1/8 and larger is extremely rare. Also finding a Cavanagh or a Knox with the same dimensions and sizes is also very rare. While I have had the rare luck of getting these two with these dimensions, the fact is most of these brands that show up on ebay are stingy brims.

So what's the deal? You guys that know hat history, can you fill me in on why the wide brim, high crown black fedora is hard to find. Stetson's are very common, yet you seldom see even this brand in a vintage wide brim black fedora. Black cowboy hats are everywhere, but not the fedora.

And why is it the same with Cavanagh and Knox? If any of you have these brands with the wide brims, 2 1/2 inches and up, you have a rare prize to be sure.

inquiring minds want to know. regards fedoralover

Victor

One of the Regulars
I don't know but I am also in the market for a black wide brimmed Fedora in
7 3/8 and haven't found it yet. Art has a really nice Optimo that he wears so I know that they exist.

daggerlee

New in Town
I guess the simplest explanation would be that the hats of those styles were from an older time period and are not as well represented on eBay as the stingy brim hats of the 50s/60s.