Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Review: Good Wear Bronco A-2, Steerhide

Fletch

I'll Lock Up
With interest growing in John Chapman's Good Wear Leather reproduction A-2s, I thought it was time I gave you my evaluation and photos of Good Wear's steerhide prototype of the Bronco ac29191 contract, which I acquired several weeks ago.

I should stress that I am not experienced with original A-2s, and that John intends his product to be extremely faithful copies of same. So I'll leave the authenticity evaluation to others. I also should note that although this is a very high quality garment, it is a test version. It should probably not be considered representative of a special-order Good Wear jacket in terms of fit, finish, or other such concerns.

click to enlarge these photos

Measurements for tag size 44:
back pit-pit 23 3/4" + front pit-pit 23 5/8" = chest 47 3/8"
shoulder 19"
epaulets 6 3/4"
sleeves 24 5/8" + 2 1/4" cuff = 26 3/4"
back length 23 3/8" + 3 1/4" waistband = 26 5/8"

armhole depth 10 1/4"
sleeve cross section at pit 8 7/8"; at cuff 5"

For reference, I am 5'10 1/2", 185 lb, with a 42" chest, 17" neck and 35" sleeve.

Materials and construction: The "Battle Cattle" steerhide is a tough yet amazingly soft leather with a rich caramel color palette and attractive variation in grain. John has evidently sealed the aniline dye with a non-water-resistant clearcoat that gives a moderate glossy finish. Its faint lacquer-like odor masks any natural leather aroma. This persists even after 3 hot soak, stretch and air dry sessions.

click to enlarge