Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Vintage suit patterns

Big Joe

Familiar Face
Hey yous guyz,

I am new to the neighborhood, but interested in a doing a civilian impression for some WW2 re-enacting. We are heavily into the civil war at this point.
I am trying to find patterns for a man's suit from the era. Any suggestions? My wife is good enough to make the suit and/or I'd have it made.

Here's lookin' at you,

Big Joe

DanielJones

I'll Lock Up
Hello Joe!

Well, good luck with that. I've been trying to scare up a suit pattern for some time now in my size. About a rare as hens teeth so far. The only thing that I did find is a reproduction pattern from Vogue Patterns for a Zoot Suit. Other than that, I think we're in for a long search.
If you happen to find a good resource please let me know.

Cheers!

Dan

Vladimir Berkov

One Too Many
I have found a great resource for vintage mens clothing patterns. It has everything from overcoats and such to suits, sporting clothes and eveningwear.

But...it only covers the period from 1902 through about 1917. So if you want a suit of the 'teens style then I can really help you out. But in terms of 20s-40s I don't have any of those.

Daniel Riser

A-List Customer
The only thing you can do is find a vintage suit that's maybe one size to small, and... possibly could be ripped to shreds, and take it to a tailor and have him draft patterns from it. except to pay about $1,000 + not including the material you have to find.

Lauren

Distinguished Service Award