Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What era does this suit convey to the forum?

Levallois

Practically Family
I'm trying to learn about the characteristcs that identify a suit for various eras. I purchased this suit recently but haven't received it yet and I'm looking at the photos wondering if I made a mistake (I know, it's kind of late now). What era does this suit "say" to the membership? Thanks!

9YA5BZN7WGC9.jpg

FPUUCBCN98LJ.jpg

UB7T4RDTML83.jpg

Maj.Nick Danger

I'll Lock Up
I'm no expert but by the look of it,..I'd say mid to late thirties. The 4 pocket vest with 6 buttons is typical of that era. (If however it is made of polyester,..it's a seventies knockoff as the seventies saw a resurgence of thirties inspired styles.):eek:
It looks to be in very nice condition for it's age. :)

Wolfmanjack

Practically Family
Wearing a DB jacket and a waistcoat was rarely done in any era. Perhaps a bit more common in the UK than in the US. Also more common in colder climes. The braces buttons on the outside of the trousers also suggests a British heritage. Does it have a button or a zipper fly (looks like a zipper)? If it buttons, that would rule out a '60 or '70s revival, of course.

Chad Sanborn

A-List Customer
I would say 38-39. I have a 39 that has a very similar cut to the jacket lapels. The 'v' on mine is a bit shallower. But mine also didn't come with a vest. So maybe the longer jacket opening is to show the vest.

Also, just noticed the pants have inversed pleats. (facing the zipper) Not outward facing pleats. This fact coupled with the brace buttons on the outside of the waistband, lead me to believe its of English tailoring.

Mr. 'H'

Call Me a Cab