Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What Vintage Sewing Project To Begin With?

Ccc

New in Town
I'm definitely interested in attempting my vintage-inspired clothing project, but where to begin is another matter.

While I'm not a novice seamstress, I get easily frustrated with the sewing. So would attempting an apron with some vintage fabric or vintage-type print fabric be the way to go?

It's pitiful, I know, but I'd like to start somewhere, and my daughter has very little patience with my delaying tactics.:)

Thanks for your ideas!

Snookie

Practically Family
A simple apron sounds like a great idea! If you don't want to find an actual vintage pattern, some of the modern companies have very nice aprons patterns. Vintage-looking cottons are oh-so plentiful, and easy to sew. Plus, an apron won't have a zipper or other difficult fasteners. It's not pitiful, either -- it's a great idea to do projects that are within your comfort zone. There's a thread on here somewhere about everyone's aprons -- check that out for inspiration!

Lollipop

Familiar Face
Suggestions for first time sewer?

Sorry for bring up a old threads, But I figured this would be better than starting up a new thread...

I plan on learning how to sew with a sewing machine...What do all you expert seamstresses suggest for a first timer?

I'm wanting to jump right in and make my own coat:D ...But I figured since I have never really sewn(Other than the typical holes.), I better start small...Soo..Any suggestions?

Miss Sis

One Too Many
The suggestion above of an apron is infact a very good one. It's not a large project and is usually just straight seams.