Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

A quick simple question...what is Velour?

Psykik

New in Town
Hi,
I am new to this wonderful forum, but not new to wearing a fedora.
For the last several years, I have gotten some great mileage out of a fur felt (unlined) fedora I bought from Orvis on clearance. Before that, I wore Lite Felt wool fedoras.

Now that the Orvis has seen its better years, I am looking again. As with most of my hobbies, I like to do my research, so like with my cigars and watches, I seek out and gain experience from the aficionados.

I have looked at some eBay hats and the archives here have helped to sift out the possible deals from the overpriced names of yesterday's fame and quality.

Onto my question-
I have seen vintage hats listed as being genuine velour. I know velour from shirts that used to be in style years ago and was more of a description of the finish of the material.

In hats, is velour an indication of finish or of the material, or both?
When I see the word "velour" on vintage hats does this refer to felt hats only?

I appreciate the mini-lesson!

Be well,
Rob

SHARPETOYS

Call Me a Cab
Its a finish!!

Onto my question-
I have seen vintage hats listed as being genuine velour. I know velour from shirts that used to be in style years ago and was more of a description of the finish of the material.

In hats, is velour an indication of finish or of the material, or both?
When I see the word "velour" on vintage hats does this refer to felt hats only?

The felt can be finished many different ways. Velour is just a finish they put on the fur felt.

Here is an example!

http://www.millerhats.com/dobbs1.htm

http://www.hats-plus.com/detail.aspx?ID=87

Art Fawcett here at the lounge can make you one. His prices start at $125.00 for a custom made fedora.