Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Avirex A-2 help please

Downunder G Man

One Too Many
I have an interest in an Avirex A-2 currently for sale here in Australia

It would be my first A2 , and I have no previous knowledge of the type

( I have had various Eastman Luftwaffe variants since 1990 )

I have tried to attach photos of the interior labels to ask if indeed this jacket is of USA manufacture ? Much conflicting info on the 'net ( as always !!)

Also could the jacket be dated from these labels with any accuracy ?

Thanks in advance folks !

Attachments

• Avirex A2 label.jpg
    Avirex A2 label.jpg
    726.5 KB · Views: 1,163
  • Avirex A2 label 2.jpg
    Avirex A2 label 2.jpg
    419.5 KB · Views: 945

Seb Lucas

I'll Lock Up
These were a very common, mass marketed American made A2 by the company now called Cockpit USA. As a non-accurate, modern A2, many people prefer these to the obvious rival made by Cooper. I would't pay more than $250 Australian for one of these myself but if it is in excellent condition, maybe. They were made from the 1975 until mid 2000's. Most Avirex jackets found on eBay seem to be from the 1990's.

Downunder G Man

One Too Many
Seb Mate,Thanks mate for the quick "Aussie timeline" reply.

As mentioned I have no previous A-2 experience , and indeed until haunting "the Lounge" have never previously considered owning any kind/brand of repro A2.

I am a straight off the rack 44 in Schott or Eastman and I wonder how the 46 in this will fit.

Some few months ago I bought a 46 Mars of Melbourne "Luftwaffe type" biker jacket and it drowned me !
Straight to a mate bigger than me and perfect for him. Bummer as it was an excellent cut and style

I also have a Walden Miller 'Brando" in 46 , and it fits very well so there you go, hard to pick as they say !

Brettafett

One Too Many