Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Do you own a Tux?

Lancealot

Practically Family
I have been considering picking up a tuxedo for veriuos formal events. I tend to get invited to 2 or 3 through the year that I'd like to get a little more dressed up then a black suit. That got me to wondering who owns a tux and how often do you get to wear it?

Fletch

I'll Lock Up
I have 2 full tuxes in a year-round weight. One is peak lapel SB, the other shawl collared DB. Being a musician, I get to wear them a lot. I like a weskit best with the peak lapel, but I also do a crumb-band on occasion.

I also have several old ivory dinner jackets in various sizes (I use them to outfit my players during the odd summer gig), a year-round tailcoat to go with the pants from the DB tux, and a full tail suit of vintage winter weight wool, plus the necessary white piqué kit. I never get to wear tails, but one can always prepare.

A look I particularly like is white piqué vest and shirt with black tie and the peak lapel tux. It doesn't get much more 30s than that.

Undertow

My Mail is Forwarded Here
I also have two year-round combos: SB notch and DB shawl.

Both were modest investments and so far, both have paid off IMO.

I would say I am invited to 2-3 formal events a year, although to call them 'black tie' is to push a boundary as the majority of patrons are suited in dingy sport coats with wrinkled/stained cotton khakis.

Just make sure you consider the long-term when purchasing these items as most black tie combos are a long-term investment. In other words, get light weight wool and make sure you can make alterations to expand.

BJBAmerica

A-List Customer