Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Full Grain Cowhide

Sheepdog149

Practically Family
Newbie here -- Do makers offer jackets made from "full grain cowhide", showing all the leather's natural character - wrinkles, scars, bug bites, etc.? Personally, I think this would add character to the jacket...

nick123

I'll Lock Up
I'm not sure if it's full or top, but the Aerial Star A-2 I owned showed all of the natural imperpections despite being chrome tanned. It was kind of veiny and grainy. It didn't have a pigment finish, which had a lot to do with it I think.

mendelboaz

One Too Many
Aero uses Horween CXL for their jackets, which is full grain. If you want a substantial jacket, I can highly recommend their 4-4.5oz steerhide. My absolute favorite leather, period.

nick123

I'll Lock Up
Aero uses Horween CXL for their jackets, which is full grain. If you want a substantial jacket, I can highly recommend their 4-4.5oz steerhide. My absolute favorite leather, period.

That's the irony! Everyone makes a fuss about full grain but CXL has been all along! If you look at it, it looks like it has a topcoat/finish, hiding some of the natural leather. But it's considered full grain. I think the full/top thing is minimally important. What's more important is the tanning/pigment. I'd focus more on that rather than strictly thinking about top vs full.

Last edited:
Sheepdog, if you want battle scars, look into the scarred Kudu that Aero and Alexander Leather briefly used.

pawineguy

One Too Many