Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What Price Glory A-2 Jacket

Smithy

I'll Lock Up
Having ummed and aahed about getting an A-2 for about 8 years now I just received one of these yesterday.

As I've only tried an A-2 on twice I thought I'd get one of these to see if I could live with the design before splashing out on a more expensive repro.

In all truth I'm quite shocked by the quality of this offering considering the price. Leather is a nice, soft goatskin (colour is somewhere between milk and dark chocolate), stitching is very well done, lining is very nice too as well as its colour. The design has a collar stand and although I'm no expert, jacket is possibly similar in cut and details to a Perry.

Overall fit is perfect for me (I'm 40'' chest and 6' 1'', jacket is size large), trim-ish but room to move, definitely not Japanese trim.

Photos on the WPG don't really do the jacket justice so I'll try and post some very shortly - although with new baby eminently arriving it might have to wait a day or so!

MightyEighth

Familiar Face
Photos on the WPG don't really do the jacket justice so I'll try and post some very shortly - although with new baby eminently arriving it might have to wait a day or so!

Don't tease with a post, then not deliver the photos!

thor

One Too Many
image.jpg
The pics on the WPG website do look pretty good, especially for a jacket at that low price!

Smithy

I'll Lock Up
Sorry for the lack of photos, I hope to rectify that tomorrow.

And Thor, thanks for posting those. TBH they don't really do the jacket justice and the fit (at least on me) is much better than shown in those.

Here's some more of my initial thoughts:

PROS

- The price. Bloody cheap by anyone's standards. Interestingly at $150 it's roughly what an A-2 was worth back in 1942.