Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

What's your headwear of choice for rain or snow?

Simon82

One of the Regulars
Hi, All --

As I'm new to the world of quality hats, I'm interested in all kinds of different lids, but am wondering what your favorite hat is for inclement weather.

As a side question, what's the best quality rain/snow-handling hat you can think of?

Thanks!

Simon

Sefton

Call Me a Cab
Biltmore Bob said:
Rain...fur felt fedora or wool eight panel cap.

Snow...What's that? Oh, that white cold stuff what falls from the sky up north.

It hasn't rained much since I got my Akubra Fed. but from what I've heard it should hold up well. Won't rain shrink an eight panel wool cap? My heads too big to take any chances with hat shrinkage. Are witchdoctors in the yellow pages? maybe it's not my hat that needs shrinking... ;)

Oh, and by the way. congratulations on making 1001 posts. Shouldn't the lounge give you a dinner and a watch or something? Cheers, Sefton

besdor

Vendor/Sponsor
IVE BEEN LOOKING FOR SOMETHING TO HOLD UP IN THE RAIN FOR A LONG TIME . I DO LIKE AKUBRAS IOLSKIN HATS . THEY DO HOLD UP BUY THEY ARE QUITE HEAVY.

Vladimir Berkov

One Too Many
I have a Irish tweed 8-panel cap I wear when it is rainy, cold or the like. It has gotten soaked though many times and hasn't shrunk yet. In fact it was somewhat tight when I got it and now I think it has expanded a bit to fit my head.

fedoralover

Call Me a Cab
As far as fedora's go I just wear my fur felt Akubra Federation. Sure it's not totally rain proof, but pretty close and besides it's still a fedora. I just can't bring myself to wear one of those gortex things even though they shed the water better. So rain or snow it's an Akubra for me.

fedoralover

The Mad Hatter

A-List Customer
For rain: the Watership Haven :

WThaven450.jpg