Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Where to buy safety-razor blades in Melbourne?

Shangas

I'll Lock Up
Hi everyone,

I'm considering buying a safety razor...one of these:

800px-Merkur_heavy_duty_safety_razor.jpg

I'm tired of having to share my father's razor and everytime I use my brother's razor, I cut myself. Modern razors with disposable cartridges don't appeal to me, and though I think straight-razors are awesome, I'm not prepared to put up with all the maintenance of the sharpening, stropping, honing, cleaning, sharpening, stropping, honing, cleaning...you get the idea.

I've never used a safety-razor before, but I think they look neat and I want to buy one. I've already got a fair idea of where I'm going to start searching for one, but what I want to know is...where can I buy the blades?

I live in Melbourne in Australia, and I was wondering if there are any shops in Melbourne that sell the old-style double-edge razor-blades? So far I've only found one possible shop that does, and I was wondering if there are any more? Can anyone help me?

Also, any tips, advice or tricks on using or looking after a safety-razor would be very much appreciated.

Yours,

Shangas.

Flashsun

New in Town
I've been thinking about the same thing...

It's the New Year & time to take up a new way of shaving...

I'm also sick of the standard mass produced shaving products. Time to introduce a bit of style & class :)

Try these guys; not Melbourne based, but they are Australian and seem to have the best prices for a variety of shaving gear (seem to be the on-line warehouse type of business, with products from a variety of original suppliers):

http://www.mensbiz.com.au/

Another good source for this kind of thing is the following UK mob (Mensbiz sells some of their products but not all; worth a look):