Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

The fit of the Aero Highwayman

desierto

New in Town
Hello. I'm new to the Fedora Lounge. One of the reasons I joined was to learn about the fit of the Aero Highwayman jacket. I'm 6'2" tall, 175 pounds, and wear a 39 Long or a 40 Long in a suit. I wear a Medium Tall in casual clothing, like from the Banana Republic. I've been in touch with Amanda at Aero, and she's been helpful, but we are still trying to determine exactly what size Highwayman jacket would be best for me. I've read that the Highwayman jacket is boxy, but I've also read it fits snugly. And I've read that I should an inch to the length in the body and the sleeves, but then I read I should add two inches. Anyone here have a similar experience having a jacket made at Aero?

jack miranda

A-List Customer
I have an Aero Highwayman, size 42.

Steerhide, black, alpaca lined. It was a demo jacket before they put it up on the sale page. It fits perfectly, and I am an 'average' size 42 guy. Your positing reads as though a size 40 with extra sleeve and body length to allow for your height might do the trick. Fenton's advice is solid. Does Amanda have your sleeve and torso measurements? If so, I think you can trust them to deliver the goods on your jacket.

Now, have you decided on hide? color? lining? ;)

desierto

New in Town
Thanks, Jack

The jacket is handsome. Amanda recommended either a size 38 with 2 inches longer in the body and sleeve or a size 40 with 1 inch longer in the body and sleeve so I am on the fence as the size to order. I was considering black horsehide, silver hardware, and the Ancient Campbell plaid lining.

Call Me Al

New in Town
desierto said:
I read the postings on that link, and it left me more confused, LOL!
I hear you.