Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Looking for hat style suggestions

Orangegrad

Practically Family
I'm fairly new to my interest in hats. So far, I own a couple inexpensive stingy brim hats, like the Dorfman you see in this picture (my 18-year-old daughter has gotten them for me). My wife and daughter will be ordering a Panama Bob Cuenca for me for Father's day. I'm thinking I like the Havana style, but I'm not sure which style would look best on me. I'm also thinking about looking for a fur felt fedora for the fall/winter.

Given that I have a rather long and thin face, and stand 5'6" with a wiry frame, any suggestions on hat styles I might want to consider - and those I should probably stay away from?

Thanks.

-Andy

DSCN0874.jpg

Hi Andy,

You might consider adding some taller crowns and wider brims to your collection. Having an 18 year old fashion consultant in the family is the best... I'd recommend paying close attention to that advice.

Welcome to the Fedora Lounge!

zetwal

I'll Lock Up
Welcome. The single best thing you can do is go to a haberdashery and try on hats of various proportions. It's now very hard to find new hats with old school proportions. But it's not a given that you would prefer those anyway. So go to a store and try various hats. You may figure out exactly what works for you. The worse that can happen is that you learn to rule out what doesn't. Ultimately, it's a matter of personal style and comfort.

danofarlington

My Mail is Forwarded Here
Hi Andy,

You might consider adding some taller crowns and wider brims to your collection.