Want to buy or sell something? Check the classifieds
  • The Fedora Lounge is supported in part by commission earning affiliate links sitewide. Please support us by using them. You may learn more here.

Taxi Dancers and Jazz Bands

hepkitten

One of the Regulars
Hello! I'm new to the Lounge, and I hope I've chosen the right forum to post this question.

I'm researching taxi dancers (dime-a-dance girls) in the early 1940's for a novel. Specifically, I'm interested in details of the dance hall operation and the experience of the dancers. I've already accumulated quite a bit of material but I'd love to talk to anyone who knows stories, or knows people who were involved in this profession.

I'm also researching black-and-tan clubs (where white and black patrons mingled freely) and what it might have been like for a young, ambitious African-American trumpet player in Chicago in the forties.

Any help greatly appreciated. I've already picked up wonderful details about cars, clothes, and music by searching the archives. Thank you!

Cousin Hepcat

Practically Family
hepkitten said:
Hello! I'm new to the Lounge, and I hope I've chosen the right forum to post this question.

I'm researching taxi dancers (dime-a-dance girls) in the early 1940's for a novel. Specifically, I'm interested in details of the dance hall operation and the experience of the dancers. I've already accumulated quite a bit of material but I'd love to talk to anyone who knows stories, or knows people who were involved in this profession.

I'm also researching black-and-tan clubs (where white and black patrons mingled freely) and what it might have been like for a young, ambitious African-American trumpet player in Chicago in the forties.

Any help greatly appreciated. I've already picked up wonderful details about cars, clothes, and music by searching the archives. Thank you!